Opposable, Science Fiction Review

Author Kirk E. Hammond

This is the spoiler free review of Opposable: The Halteres Chronicles Book One. If you would like to read the spoiler full review complete with every gory action packed fight please visit here.

Thank you so much to author Kirk E. Hammond for providing me with a copy of his book in exchange for this honest review.

Opposable is the first book in The Halteres Chronicles, a very promising new science fiction series that would be perfect for fans of John Dies at the End.

The plot is a little complicated to explain without also giving spoilers. Our group of protagonists consists of some unusual characters that I really enjoyed spending time with. (In the book, probably not in real life.) There’s Pops, the kind of square (at least by these standards) inventor and writer who has a sort of muse like connection to space and the secrets of the universe.

There’s Xeno, his best friend and mohawk sporting drug connoisseur. Ashleigh, the hard drinking, rage filled, super badass who is going to be driving them to their destiny. Patton, a giant psychic cyborg cat who can communicate with Pops via mind power and control anyone with his ability to manipulate brain chemicals. And Sho, a Native American looking alien warrior goddess who also has mind control chemicals but ALSO can shoot fire from her fingers.

This team is on a road trip to save the world and there is absolutely no shortage of partying along the way. The author does an amazing job of introducing hard drug culture into this book without it being cringe-worthy or obnoxious. It’s fun and exciting but still extremely dangerous and not for everyone, just like most drugs really are.

On a personal note, I would absolutely die for a cat who could cause me to sleep or pep the eff up on command. I need some good chemical enhancers for real, and in the form of a scary cat with opposable metal thumbs is a win win.

Opposable is fast paced and action packed. There are alien invasions and various battles throughout the entire book. Somehow there is also strong character development and really great dialogue as well. Most sci fi books give you one or the other, but Opposable has you covered.

My only complaint, because I feel like I have to give one if a book is less than 5 stars, is that it gets just a little confusing. A lot happens in this book and a lot of stuff twists and turns and isn’t what you thought it was at first. It plops you down in the middle of the action and needs you to fill in some blanks along the way. Luckily, those blanks were fun to figure out so whenever I felt lost I just trusted the pages would find their way back on track.

I’m excited to read the rest of the series when it comes out. I think now that some of this universe is built the rest of the series will be smoother to read and understand. Also, this book is unpredictable and I’m very curious as to where the sequels will take the reader since the first book ended in the way that it did.

I love reading anything that is new and exciting. I compared Opposable to John Dies at the End but it is definitely not a copy. The two share some themes and in order to get people to read something they’ve never heard of it helps for them to associate it with something popular. I do think the books are in the same vein but Opposable is its own beast.

Any fans of outrageous action and science fiction that actually has a little science with the fiction will be happy to read Opposable, I recommend it.

4/5 cats in space 🐱‍🚀🐱‍🚀🐱‍🚀🐱‍🚀

in order to keep me up to my ears in books please consider using the following amazon affiliate link to purchase this product. it’s at no extra cost to you and would really help me out, thank you and happy reading!

Buy it here: Opposable (The Halteres Chronicles)

I love comic books, nonfiction, and everything in between! Come discuss your favorites!

Leave a Reply